Pumpkin Pie Pop Tarts Review

This Thanksgiving holiday I was able to taste one of three new limited time holiday edition of pop tarts. They released Sugar Cookie, which looked like it would taste like an overly sweet, buttery, vanilla based cookie dough,  Gingerbread, which looked like it may be decent (but I’m not a gingerbread fan) and pumpkin pie, which scared me at first.  At first glance, I figured the pumpkin flavor would be too sweet, a hit or miss, (perhaps because of the sprinkles?) but mostly a miss because, well, sometimes the authenticity of the pumpkin flavor is hard to perfect when it comes to snack like commodities. It’s either too sweet, or too spicy in my experience. After tying it, I was surprised with the likeness it was to a pumpkin pie.

Sugar Cookie, Gingerbread and the addictive pumpkin pie flavored pop tarts.

Firstly, the pumpkin filling was delicate in sweetness and has a nice balance of spice to compliment it, as cinnamon and clove add an earth spiciness that rounds out the rich pumpkin. The toasted pop tart crust added a classic pie influence which brought out the flavor even more.  I’d say that this mirrored a pumpkin pie that  was not overly sweet and I finished them off very quickly. Only issue was I was not able to find these everywhere. I was hoping they’d stay out for the Christmas holiday, but  they were discontinued after Thanksgiving at the grocers in my area, which I thought was odd since they also had “Christmas” type of flavors like Gingerbread and sugar cookie. Although this review is slightly late considering they are no longer available, I did want to mention that Pop Tart did create seasonal and exciting flavors, and if they bring them back next year, at last you would have known about this flavor to try out. In the back of my mind, I keep hoping I’ll find these somewhere, because they are delicious! If anyone can find them, please let me know! 😀

Note: These taste different when eaten straight out of the package or”room temp”. Doesn’t compliment the traditional pie flavor, and it gives a slight vegetable-like quality.

Kellogg’s Pumpkin Pie Pop Tart Yumfactor: 4 tongues (4 out of 5 stars ). I was highly addicted to these because of the warm traces of clove and cinnamon, which danced boldly with the sweet but spicy notes of the pumpkin filling. The pie crust flavor was icing on the cake as it completed the pop tart pie experience. Worth a try!

Don’t forget to rate, comment, and/or subscribe!

Leave a Reply

