Magic Shell “Cupcake” Review

  

Cupcake Magic Shell With Vanilla Ice Cream

*Disclaimer: I love the vanilla flavor and when I refer to it being boring, that is a mockery of the whole “vanilla is boring” rubbish you hear some people say. 

Smuckers has released a line of Magic Shell ice cream (hard shell syrup) condiments for ice cream in a wide array of flavors ranging from chocolate to s’mores, cherry to reece’s peanut butter chocolate and newly, cupcake.  Gasps! (both in excitement but later for air when I tried it,) Since I love cupcakes for their cute factor and their deliciousness along with their ability to make me feel young again, I had to give this a try.  Mind you, I had read reviews of the condiment before to view opinions both good and bad stating how sweet this item was, but also how good it is.  Having vanilla ice cream, I figured buying this would boost it’s self-esteem of being wrongfully misunderstood as boring and too predictable to more fun..besides sprinkles make everything better,right?

WRONG! This new flavor is wonderful if you like the taste of a melted, dried  butter topping with pretty sprinkles. The bottle is a pleasant vanilla cream color which makes the imagination soar of conceptions of cupcakey goodness, and your mouth may water a little. After it is shaken for approximately 20 seconds and the foil seal is ripped off, you get a whiff of the creamy frosting inspired scent that may hurt your teeth if sensitive to sugary foods (and I’m a sweet tooth by the way).  It goes on very liquidy when poured on ice cream, but promises to freeze in seconds, creating a hard enough shell to be cracked with a spoon.

Humph! Well, Mr. turtle, I must say that I slightly resent you for lying to me because the consistency matches that of a melted Barbie thigh. That’s right no crunchy shell here, just plastic. May also be a wee bit sweet for you if you are over the age of 6. So,why do I keep on giving this a try? Oh that’s right.  I hate throwing things away.

Pros: The Sprinkles. Don’t sprinkles add excitement to anything? Not expensive ~$2.29 at Publix. 

Cons: Everything else. This is a great product to give to someone you don’t like very much. 🙂 

Magic Shell Cupcake Yumfactor: 2 out of 5 tongues (and a taste bud if used in very small portions). 

*Photo collage made by me using original photos.

Leave a comment